The British Council has worked with English teachers from Palestine’s Ministry of Education and Higher Education, and UNRWA for six years on the use of stories for enjoyable English learning in schools.

Towards the end of our 4 year Kids Read project we sought to use what we had learned, and provide a more sustainable resource for teachers.

Nick Bilbrough has worked with Palestinian English teachers, and on the use of stories and drama, and we commissioned him to write the ‘Stories Alive’ resource book, which contains teachers’ materials for ten stories. The stories include some suggested by Palestinian teachers, some which are known in many countries, and others which originated in Palestine and the Levant.

Each story has a picture story, a story summary in concise sentences, a chant, and a theatre script which students can perform. Powerpoint colour pictures from five different illustrators are also available for every story. Extensive teachers’ notes describe how these resources can be used in a number of different ways. Students and teachers in the Gaza Strip and the West Bank have made creative plays, both acted by students and in shadow – puppet theatre form. They have also interpreted the chants in their own style and with arrangements involving the whole class. In 2016, over 100 teachers were trained to use the materials and we hope that more students enjoy using them.

القصص لتعلم وتدريس اللغة الإنجليزية

عمل المجلس الثقافي البريطاني مع مدرسي اللغة الإنجليزية الفلسطينيين العاملين في كل من وزارة التربية والتعليم العالي، ووكالة غوث وتشغيل اللاجئين الفلسطينيين، الأونروا، لمدة ست سنوات، على استخدام القصص لجعل تعلم اللغة الإنجليزية في المدارس تجربة ممتعة.

مع اقتراب نهاية مشروعنا ذي السنوات الأربعة "الأطفال يقرؤون"، سعينا إلى استخدام ما قد تعلمناه، وتوفير موارد أكثر استدامة للمعلمين.

عمل نيك بيلبرو مع مدرسي اللغة الإنجليزية الفلسطينيين، على استخدام القصص والدراما، وقد طلبنا منه كتابة كتاب "قصص حية" المرجعي، الذي يحتوي على مواد للمعلمين لعشر قصص. وتشمل مجموعة القصص، قصصاً اقترحها المدرسون الفلسطينيون، وبعض القصص المعروفة في كثير من البلدان، وقصصاً أخرى نشأت في فلسطين وبلاد الشام.

في كل قصة هناك قصة مصورة، وملخص قصة في جمل موجزة، ونشيد، ونص مسرحي يمكن للطلاب تأديته. كما وتتوفر لكل قصة، خمسة عروض (بوربوينت) لصور ورسومات من خمسة رسامين مختلفين. كما ويضم الكتاب ملاحظات مكثفة للمعلمين تصف كيف يمكن استخدام هذه الموارد بطرق عديدة مختلفة. قام الطلاب والمعلمون في قطاع غزة والضفة الغربية بتأدية مسرحيات إبداعية، تم تمثيلها من جانب الطلاب أنفسهم، كما وتمت تأديتها بمسرح الظلال- وعلى شكل مسرح العرائس. كما وفسر الطلاب والمعلمون الأنشدة بأسلوبهم الخاص وبترتيبات سمحت بمشاركة كافة طلاب الصف. في عام 2016، تم تدريب ما يزيد على 100 من المعلمين على استخدام هذه المواد ونأمل أن يحظى عدد أكبر من الطلاب بفرصة استخدامها.