We aim to raise awareness around issues relating to the status of people with disabilities and of disability within artistic communities, highlighting the barriers faced by this sector creatively and professionally.  We aim to reach all levels of influence, from policy makers to grassroots activists, by stressing the values of inclusion and equality which are  key to the British Council and thus promoting the works of disabled artists.

Since 2012 the British Council and our partners in Palestine have developed long-term projects around the themes of arts and disability.

Our projects include: 

Animation for the Deaf

Since 2012 the British Council has worked in partnership with the Palestinian Red Crescent Society’s Total Communication School on training a group of students in the art and craft of traditional stop-motion animation.

Students are taught with the practical skills with which they can express themselves. Equipped with the prerequisite technical and aesthetic skills and experience, the deaf students were able to create films that tell stories using their own sign languages, rather than relying exclusively on substitutes for oral speech such as subtitles, or resorting to wordless narratives. In doing so they not only serve their own specific needs, but they make a unique contribution to the art of animation as a whole.

The Animation for the Deaf training project aims to develop creative confidence as well as social competence. During open days and summer schemes, the students became more confident and were led to conduct their own animation workshops, sharing their newly-acquired skills with their disabled and non-disabled peers. 

Using Arts Therapeutically

As part of the British Council's commitment to build the capacities of the local organisations working with people with disabilities, we developed a long-term training programme in using arts therapeutically. Since February 2013 a team of sixteen animators and psycho-social workers from the Bethlehem Arab Society for Rehabilitation have attended three phases of intensive training conducted by the UK based organisation TUTUBI. The participants learned new techniques in using the arts for therapeutic purposes.

Dance and Disability

As an outcome of an intensive two week dance residency project by Candoco Dance Company in Palestine, a short contemporary dance piece was produced and performed during Ramallah Contemporary Dance Festival 2013. A group of deaf and hearing youth danced in Candoco's main performance to an enthusiastic audience who greeted them using sign language. You can watch this performance here

 

Contact us for more information on our work in Arts and Disability.

الفن وذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة

نهدف في المجلس الثقافي البريطاني إلى رفع الوعي حول القضايا المتعلقة بذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة، وذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة في المجتمعات الفنية، مسلطين الضوء على العوائق التي يواجهها هذا القطاع في مجال الإبداع والمجال المهني كذلك.  إننا نصبو إلى الوصول إلى مستويات التأثير، بدءاً بصانعي السياسات وصولا إلى نشطاء العمل مع فئات المجتمع، عبر التأكيد على قيم الاحتواء والمساواة التي تعد من أساسيات عمل المجلس الثقافي البريطاني، وبالتالي العمل على نشر ودعم أعمال الفنانين من ذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة.

وقد عمل المجلس الثقافي البريطاني، منذ عام 2012، مع شركائنا في فلسطين على تطوير مشاريع طويلة الأمد تتمحور حول مواضيع الفنون وذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة. 

وتشمل مشاريعنا:

الرسوم المتحركة للصم

عمل المجلس الثقافي البريطاني، منذ عام 2012،  بالتعاون مع مدرسة التواصل التام التابعة لجمعية الهلال الأحمر الفلسطينية، على تدريب مجموعة من الطلاب في مجال فن وصناعة الرسوم المتحركة التقليدية بتقنية الستوب موشن.

يتم تعليم الطلاب على المهارات العملية التي يمكنهم التعبير من خلالها عن أنفسهم. وقد تمكن الطلاب الصم، بعد تجهيزهم بالشروط المعرفية المسبقة، والمهارات التقنية والجمالية والخبرة اللازمة، من صنع أفلام تسرد قصصهم، باستخدام لغة الإشارة التي يتحدثونها، بدل الاعتماد حصرياَ على بدائل الحديث الشفوي مثل الترجمة المكتوبة، أو الاعتماد على قصص دون كلمات. ومن خلال هذا الإنجاز، لم يتمكن هؤلاء الطلاب من تلبية احتياجاتهم وحسب، بل قد ساهموا أيضاً في فن الرسوم المتحركة ككل.

يهدف مشروع الرسوم المتحركة للصم إلى تطوير الثقة الإبداعية والقدرات المجتمعية على حد سواء. وخلال الأيام المفتوحة، والبرامج الصيفية، أصبح الطلاب أكثر ثقة، وتم إرشادهم من أجل تنفيذ ورش عمل تعليم الرسوم المتحركة الخاصة بهم بأنفسهم، بحيث يشاركون مهاراتهم التي اكتسبوها حديثاً مع نظرائهم من ذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة الآخرين ونظرائهم من غير ذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة. 

استخدام الفن للعلاج

كجزء من التزام المجلس الثقافي البريطاني ببناء قدرات المؤسسات المحلية العاملة مع ذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة، فقد طورنا برنامجاً تدريبياً طويل الأمد في مجال استخدام الفن علاجياً. ومنذ شهر شباط 2013، حضر فريق مكون من ستة عشرة فناناً للرسوم المتحركة وعاملين اجتماعيين نفسيين من الجمعية العربية للتأهيل في بيت لحم، تدريباً مكثفاً جرى على ثلاث مراحل ونفذته مؤسسة "TUTUBI" من المملكة المتحدة. وقد تعلم المشاركون في هذا التدريب تقنيات جديدة في استخدام الفن لأهداف علاجية.

الرقص وذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة

كنتيجة لمشروع الإقامة الفنية لمدة أسبوعين، والذي نفذته فرقة كوندوكو للرقص في فلسطين، تم إنتاج مقطوعة رقص قصيرة وعرضها ضمن فعاليات مهرجان رام الله للرقص المعاصر 2013. وقد رقصت مجموعة من الشبان والشابات الصم وغير الصم في عرض الأداء الرئيسي الذي قدمته فرقة كوندوكو، أمام جمهور متحمس حيّا الراقصين بلغة الإشارة. يمكن مشاهدة هذا العرض هنا.

اتصل بنا لمزيد من المعلومات عن عملنا في مجال الفن وذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة