I’m very proud to represent the British Council in Palestine and to follow on from the last country director Alan Smart; and to have been able to return here after a 6-month spell as Acting Country Director from July to December 2008.  Coming back and leading our work here is an immense privilege for me.   It is work that first began in 1942, when the British Council opened its doors in Jerusalem - in a very different world than what we have now.

As an organisation we have been here ever since. We have never closed down or left and have sustained our work through wars and intifadas. We have no intention of changing that continuity and our commitment is as strong as it always was. And we work all over Palestine with offices in East Jerusalem, Gaza, and The West Bank (Ramallah, Nablus and Hebron). As our distribution suggests we are here for all Palestinians and we hope and believe that our work in English (with new teaching centres in Ramallah and East Jerusalem), Education, Society and the Arts has something for everybody in what is an extremely diverse country. I very much hope that includes you.

We aim to work with partners and individuals across Palestine and the UK to develop new opportunities to build real, sustainable relationships based on trust and mutual respect in what we know is a challenging environment. As a cultural relations organisation we want to be the best there is.

If you’re an old friend of the British Council in Palestine I’d like to thank you for your support and interest; if you’re meeting us for the first time then ahlan wa sahlan! And remember to check us out on FacebookTwitter and Youtube. We may have been here since the last century, but there has been a communications revolution since then and we’re part of it.

Brendan McSharry,OBE

Director, British Council Palestine

رسالة من مدير الثقافي البريطاني في فلسطين

إنني أشعر ببالغ الفخر لتمثيلي المجلس الثقافي البريطاني في فلسطين ولمتابعة العمل الذي بدأه المدير السابق ألان سمارت، ولتمكني من العودة بعد فترة عمل في فلسطين كمدير من تموز حتى كانون أول من عام 2008. تمثل العودة وقيادة عملنا هنا في فلسطين امتياز كبير بالنسبة لي. بدأت أعمالنا هنا منذ عام 1942 عندما فتح المجلس الثقافي البريطاني أبوابه في القدس لأول مرة- في عالم مختلف تماما عن ما لدينا الآن.

ومنذ تأسس المجلس والمجلس باق هنا كمؤسسة. لم يحدث أن أغلقنا المجلس أو غادرنا، واستمر عملنا في خضم الحروب والانتفاضات. ولسنا نملك أي نية لتغيير هذه الاستمرارية، حيث أن التزامنا قوي وسيبقى قوياً كما كان طيلة الوقت. إننا نعمل في كافة أنحاء فلسطين في مكاتبنا في القدس، وغزة، والضفة الغربية (رام الله ونابلس والخليل). وكما يظهر من توزع أماكننا فإننا هنا من أجل جميع الفلسطينيين وإننا نأمل ونؤمن أن عملنا في مجال اللغة الإنجليزية (مع مراكز التعليم الجديدة في رام الله وفي القدس الشرقية)، وفي التعليم، والمجتمع والفنون فيه ما يفيد الجميع في بلد بهذا القدر من التنوع. وكم أتمنى من صميم قلبي أن تشملكم هذه الإفادة.

إننا نهدف إلى العمل مع شركاء وأفراد في فلسطين والمملكة المتحدة من أجل تطوير فرص جديدة لبناء علاقات حقيقية ومستدامة تكون مبنية على أسس الثقة والاحترام المتبادل في بيئة نعرف أنها تنضوي على الكثير من التحديات. وبصفتنا مؤسسة علاقات ثقافية فإننا نصبو إلى أن نكون الأفضل على الدوام.

إن كنت صديقاً قديماً للمجلس الثقافي البريطاني في فلسطين فإنني أود أن أشكرك على دعمك واهتمامك، وإن كنت تلتقينا للمرة الأولى فأهلا وسهلا! وتذكر دائما أن تزور صفحتنا على الفيس بوك وتويتر ويوتيوب. صحيح أننا كنا هنا منذ قرن خلى، إلا أن ثورة اتصالات حدثت منذ ذلك الحين، وقد واكبناها وكنا جزءاً منها. 

برندن مكشاري

مدير المجلس الثقافي البريطاني، فلسطين